TO WEISSPORT, PA
Originally built in 1896 as a lumber mill, 500 Bridge St has been operated as a general store, a furniture repair facility, and most well known--a silk and textile mill.
The mill was taken over by W.F. Hofford in 1918, who continued to develop the facility.
In 1928, the entire building was occupied by The Vertex Hosiery Company, who continued to operate in the building over the next several decades. Until the mid 90s, the building continued to produce garments by various tenants.
Today, the Hofford Mill seeks to shine a spotlight on a historical gem while uniting people for entertainment and recreation!
hofford mill, silk mill, weissport, lehighton, jim thorpe, allentown, pocono, poconos, what to do, tourist, weyerbacher, brewery, beer, triple sun spirits, distillery, spirits, bar, coffee potter, coffee, coffee shop, axe throwing, laser tag, fun, things to do, day trip, hostel, cheap hotel, cheap accomodations, d&l, bike trail, outdoor, events, recreation